Award Winners

Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award

This award was established by AJLI in recognition of the vision of Mary Harriman, the founder of the Junior League in the United States. It honors a member whose volunteer efforts provide a contemporary link to Harriman’s sense of social responsibility and her ability to motivate others to share their talents through volunteer service. The Junior League of Kansas City is honored to have two recipients of this prestigious award:

Awd_Win_1_1Adele Hall  1996

Causes:  Philanthropy, Voluntarism, Child Welfare, Education

“The Junior League is a wonderful opportunity for brilliant women to network – to find that this person has a strength that this other person does not have, but together the sum of the parts is much more than the whole would be without them.” 
     – Adele Hall, 2012

Read more…


Awd_Win_2_1Mary Shaw “Shawsie” Branton  2011

Causes:  Child Welfare, Diversity

“If there is a need, fill it. It’s not what you have, it’s what you do.”
     – Shawsie Branton, 2011

Read more…



Community Service Award Winners

The Community Service Award is the Junior League of Kansas City’s highest award, given annually to a member (or members) who has shown outstanding leadership and service in her community.

2020  Jerry Vaughan
2019  Lisa Schellhorn
2018  Mina Steen
2017  Jan Rowe
2016   Jinny McCoy
2015   Ellen Hockaday
2014   100th Anniversary – no award given
2013   Jan Marcason
2012   Addie Ward
2011   Paget Higgins
2010   Barbara Marshall
2009   Diane Johnson
2008   Bunni Copaken and Julie Schoemehl
2007   Vicky Leonard and Laura Chisholm
2006   Ginny Beall and Dolly Wood
2005   Audrey Langworthy and Julie Lattimer
2004   Caroline McKnight and Jennifer Breedlove
2003   Leslie Whitaker and Polly Kramer
2002   Shirley Helzberg and Lynne O’Connell
2001   Hazel Hillix Barton Wells
2000   Martha Jane Starr and Susan Belger Angulo
1999   Joan Marsh and Ann Sundeen
1998   Mary Jane Barnes
1997   Judy Hunt and Lisa Adkins
1996   Charline Schmelzer and Lydia Butler
1995   Trula Guiou Hunt and Kate Gibson
1994   Georgia Lynch and Linda Lyon
1993   Susie Hughes and Jeanne Sosland
1992   Mary Hunkeler and Jean Maneke
1991   Mary Shaw Branton and Marianne Kilroy
1990   Adele Hall