Award Recipients

The JLKCMO honors both League members and outstanding community members through our annual awards.

Mary Harriman Community Leadership Award

This award was established by AJLI in recognition of the vision of Mary Harriman, the founder of the Junior League in the United States. It honors a member whose volunteer efforts provide a contemporary link to Harriman’s sense of social responsibility and her ability to motivate others to share their talents through volunteer service. The Junior League of Kansas City, Missouri, is honored to have two recipients of this prestigious award.


Community Service Award

The Community Service Award is the Junior League of Kansas City’s highest award, given annually to a member (or members) who has shown outstanding leadership and service in her community.


Starr Women’s Hall of Fame

The Starr Women’s Hall of Fame is dedicated to recognizing extraordinary Kansas City women and preserving the history of their accomplishments. These women are social reformers, volunteers, philanthropists, civic leaders, activists and educators. They are movers and shakers whose tireless commitment to community has made Kansas City a better place to live. The Hall of Fame is a repository for their legacies. By sharing their stories, the Hall of Fame encourages and inspires women everywhere.


Branton/Hall Community Collaborator Award

The Branton/Hall Award was named in memory and honor of Shawsie Branton and Adele Hall and recognizes like-minded individuals who continue their legacy of creating positive social impact in Kansas City. It is presented annually at C3KC, the League’s conference to spark change for a better community.

Annual League Awards

JLKCMO Members—New, Active, or Sustainer—nominate fellow League Members for a variety of awards annually. The selection of honorees is made by the Board of Directors by secret ballot. The New Member of the Year selection is made by the New Member Education team, and the Sustainer Nominating Committee selects for the Community Service Award. Recipients are announced at the Annual General Membership Meeting.